cropped-p1010070.jpgName: The Land Conservation Committee

We are a committee of residents of the Lathrop Retirement Communities, which has campuses in Easthampton and Northampton, MA, and which is affiliated with the Kendal Corporation (Kendal.org). See our Lathrop community website at http://www.lathrop.kendal.org   The committee works closely with Lathrop management to achieve our mission.

The committee is chaired by Barbara Walvoord (Walvoord@nd.edu)

Other committee members are Helen Armstrong, Jeanne Breeden,  Joan Cenedella, Adele Dowell, Jim Dowell, Al Eipper, Esther Ernst, Joan Geller, Chuck Gillies, Sharon Grace, Eleanor Herman, Roger Herman, Lyn Howe,  Judy Hyde, Eleanor Johnson, Camilla Knapp,  Betty Schaffer, Ethel White, Frances Volkmann.

Mission Statement for the Land Conservation Committee

Our mission is to manage Lathrop’s land so as to nurture native plants and wildlife in a healthy ecosystem, position our land for future uses in a changing climate, practice sustainable agriculture, bring the riches of nature to our current residents, attract prospective residents, and enhance our relations with our surrounding communities.

Our Land

Our Easthampton campus has 177 acres; The Northampton campus has more than 30 acres. Some of our land on both campuses is in Conservation Restriction. The land includes fields, meadows, wetlands, forests, ponds, and brooks.


Nurturing Lathrop’s native plants and wildlife.